Go Back

Ebba Witt-Brattström

Ebba Marcelle Witt-Brattström
Born June 1, 1953, Stockholm

PhD 1988 (literature), Stockholm University
Docent in literature 1995, Stockholm University

Professor of Scandinavian Literature 2012–, University of Helsinki
Dag Hammarskjöld Professor, Department of Northern European Studies, Humboldt University of Berlin
Visiting Professor 2002, Dep. of Scandinavian Studies, University College London
Professor of literature (specialised in gender studies) 2000–12, Södertörn University
Lecturer and head of literature 1998, Södertörn University
Erasmus-Dozent, Deutsches Seminar 1995, University of Zurich
Erasmus Docent, Oud-Germanistik 1993, University of Groningen
Research associate in literature 1992–98, Stockholm University
Project researcher 1989–92, Stockholm University

Member of the executive committee of the internet version of the Nordic Women's Literary History project 2013–14
Member of the Swedish government committee for the promotion of school equality 2010–11

Director of the research project Den Nya kvinnan mellan två sekelskiften (‘The new woman at the turn of two centuries’) 2002–05, Foundation for Baltic and East European Studies, Södertörn University

Member of the Board of the Royal Institute of Technology 1998–03, Stockholm
Member of the Nordic Council Literature Prize committee 1991–99
Member of the editorial board of the journal Kvinnovetenskaplig tidskrift
Member of the editorial board of The History of Nordic Women's Literature I–V 1982–2000, editor-in-chief of the Swedish language editions of parts II–III

Research themes
The canon and gender, literary historiography, the breakthrough of modernism, decadence, 1930s Swedish proletarian modernism, modernist lyrical poetry, 1970s as a literary era, literary gender dialogues. Moa Martinson, Edith Södergran, Victoria Benedictsson, Pyhä Birgitta, Ola Hansson, Laura Marholm and August Strindberg. Psychoanalytic literary research, gender studies.

Publications, research projects and other academic activity

Awards and honours
Björn Nilsson Prize 2016, Expressen
Elin Wägner Prize 2015
Ivar Lo-Johansson Prize 2014
Lars Salvius Prize 2010, Swedish Writers’ Union
Örjan Lindberger Prize 2006
Helge Ax:son stiftelse Foundation Prize 2005
Samfundet De Nio essay prize 2004
Moa Prize 2001, Swedish Workers' Educational Association
Nominee of Stockholm University’s Faculty of History and Philosophy for the Swedish Government’s young researcher scholarship award. 1993

Photo: Marie Klingspor Rotstein
Written by Ebba Witt-Brattström (Tomas Sjöblom ed.)
Translated by Matthew Billington

Culture Men and Feminists—The Talk Show Skavlan

Ebba Witt-Brattström was a guest on the Norwegian-Swedish talk show Skavlan in October 2015. The topics Witt-Brattström touches on include different forms of feminism, men of culture, and the reasons for her protracted and extremely harsh criticism of the Swedish Academy. Witt-Brattström appears on the programme starting at the 28:20 mark.


Go Back